Halifax musicians perform in a series of virtual concerts Live at The Carleton

Live concerts feture original music and interviews with the artists

Live at The Carleton continues with artists confirmed through June.

With the closure of venues and cancellation of live performances around the world, artists everywhere are taking to the internet.

Locally, Halifax Presents partnered with local music venue The Carleton for an online music series to give Halifax musicians an opportunity to perform and audiences a virtual show during this time of physical distancing.

“In these strange and isolating times, we are so happy to partner with Halifax Presents to bring amazing local artists Live at The Carleton into your living room,” says The Carleton owner Karen Spaulding. “And now more than ever, we need the joy and escape that music provides.”

Simulcast on the Halifax Presents and The Carleton Facebook pages, the series kicked off in March and continued through June. Each concert included original music and interviews with the artists.

“Listen to their stories, revel in their songs, wash your hands, and share the moment with your online community,” says Spaulding.

Click on the links below for replays of the individual concerts:

Saturday, March 21 – Gabriel Minnikin
Tuesday, March 24 – Skin & Jones
Thursday, March 26 – Chad McCoy
Saturday, April 4 – Jon Cornwall
Wednesday, April 15 – Rudy Pacé
Saturday, April 18 – Aroniste
Saturday, April 25 – Braden Lam
Wednesday, April 29 – Cameron Hawes
Saturday, May 2 – Tevon Tynes
Wednesday, May 6 – Sasha Brideau
Saturday, May 9 – Dusty Keleher
Wednesday, May 13 – Allen Snow
Saturday, May 16 – Roxy Mercier & Jacob Strang
Wednesday, May 20 – A Birthday Celebration with Arsoniste
Saturday, May 23 – Kristen Martell
Wednesday, May 27 – Laura Caswell
Saturday, May 30 – Becca Guilderson & Jordan Ginn
Wednesday, June 3 – Garry Williams
Saturday, June 6 – Maureen Batt
Wednesday, June 10 – Adam Wood & Colin Boutilier
Saturday, June 13 – Matt Steele
Wednesday, June 17 – Terra Spencer
Saturday, June 20 – Charlie A’Court
Wednesday, June 24 – Tyler Messick

Live at The Carleton continues with 15 artists confirmed to take part in the virtual concerts on Facebook.

“We know it is a tough time right now for everyone,” says Halifax Presents, contributing editor Mark Robins. “We wanted to give the artists an outlet to continue performing and spread a little joy through music for those who are in quarantine, isolation or practicing social distancing.”

With everyone involved volunteering their talent, time, and expertise to help make this happen, it was not only a way to give back to the broader community but also provide a revenue stream for the artists themselves.

“This series also gives you a way to say thanks by dropping a donation into the virtual tip jar, with every dollar going directly to the artist, and will be a huge help to these talented folks who currently are unable to work,” says Spaulding.

The safety of the artist and those involved in making this happen was paramount with only the artists and those required for the broadcast in attendance. Everyone involved practiced social distancing best practices while broadcasting from The Carleton.