Placeholder canvas
Sunday, May 19, 2024

Neon Dreams among Halifax artists honoured at this year’s East Coast Music Awards

Other local artists who took home trophies include Charlie A’Court, Cloverdale, Rich Aucoin, Orchid’s Curse, KAYO, The Bombadils, Good Dear Good, and Jenn Grant.

Alt-pop duo Frank Kadillac and Adrian Morris, collectively known as Neon Dreams, were among the Halifax-based winners at this year’s East Coast Music Awards (ECMA), taking home the trophy for album of the year for their recording, Love Child Baby Dolphin.

Other local artists who took home trophies during the 36th celebration of the best music from across the region include Jenn Grant, who took home awards for both song (Judy) and songwriter of the year. At the same time, alt-pop musician Rich Aucoin won the electronic recording category for the second year in a row.

Halifax area winners also included Charlie A’Court (blues recording), Cloverdale (dance recording), Orchid’s Curse (loud recording), KAYO (R&B/soul recording), The Bombadils (rising star recording), and Good Dear Good (rock recording).

A complete list of winners follows:

African Canadian Artist of the Year
Maggie Andrew

Album of the Year
Neon Dreams – Love Child Baby Dolphin

Blues Recording of the Year
Charlie A’Court – International Roots & Blues Kitchen Party

Children’s Entertainer of the Year 
The Swinging Belles

Choral Recording of the Year 
Luminos Ensemble – In the Crystalline Vault of Heaven

Classical Composer of The Year
Andrew Staniland – Blackwood Sketches

Classical Recording of the Year 
Bill Brennan – Kaleidoscope – Music for Mallet Instruments

Contemporary Roots Recording of the Year
The East Pointers – Safe In Sound

Country Recording of the Year 
Jason Benoit – Time Traveller the album

Dance Recording of the Year 
Cloverdale – Up To No Good

Electronic Recording of the Year
Rich Aucoin – Space

Folk Recording of the Year 
Tim Baker – The Festival

Francophone Recording of the Year
Julie Aubé – Contentement

Fusion Recording of the Year
Gina Burgess – Anuri

Global Music Recording of the Year
Cuerpos – En Dos Partes

Group Recording of the Year
The East Pointers – Safe In Sound

Indigenous Artist of the Year
Morgan Toney

Instrumental Recording of the Year
Flying Pooka! – Flying Pooka! The Ecstasy of Becoming

Jazz Recording of the Year
Paul Tynan – Bicoastal Collective; Chapter 6

Loud Recording of the Year 
Orchid’s Curse – The Decay

Pop Recording of the Year
The East Pointers – Safe In Sound

R&B / Soul Recording of the Year
KAYO – Trip

Rap/Hip-Hop Recording of the Year
City Natives – Still Chief’n

Rising Star Recording of the Year
The Bombadils – Tell Me I’m Not Dreaming

Rock Recording of the Year
Good Dear Good – Arrival

Roots/Traditional Recording of the Year
Morgan Toney – Resilience

Solo Recording of the Year
Tim Baker – The Festival

Song of the Year
Jenn Grant – “Judy”

Songwriter of the Year
Jenn Grant

TD Fans’ Choice Entertainer of the Year
Derina Harvey Band

TD Fans’ Choice Video of the Year
2nd Generation – “Kina’mu” (Director: Matthew Ingraham)

Event of the Year
Halifax Jazz Festival

Innovator of the Year 
Lindsay Connolly

Artist Management of The Year 
Derrick Sturge – Pharos Music Inc.

Audio Engineer of The Year
Jamie Foulds

Media Person Of The Year
Katie Kelly and Zach Snow (tied)

Producer Of The Year
Corey LeRue

Venue of the Year 
The Carleton

Video Director of the Year
Brothers Boyd

Visual Artist of the Year
Heidi-Lyn O’Connor – East Track Mind

Director’s Special Achievement Award
Bruce Guthro

Bucky Adams Memorial Award
Scott Parsons

Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award
Denis Parker

Industry Builder Award
John Poirier

Musician’s Achievement Award
Deryl Gallant

Stompin’ Tom Awards
Pamela Morgan
Ian Alistair Gosbee
Stephen Muise
Zachary Atkinson
Kerri Wynne Macleod

Join the Discussion

Follow Us on Social Media

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -