Placeholder canvas
Monday, June 17, 2024

Recognizing the best in Nova Scotia music

Music Nova Scotia handed out 28 awards during a ceremony over the weekend, celebrating the best in music and musicians from across our province.

Music Nova Scotia handed out 28 awards during a ceremony over the weekend as part of the 25th anniversary of Nova Scotia Music Week. The awards, voted on by Music Nova Scotia members, celebrate the best in music and musicians from our province.

Multiple award winners included DeeDee Austin, Nicole Ariana, Reeny Smith and The Town Heroes, each receiving two trophies.

Also celebrated during the ceremony was the acapella quartet Four The Moment, who made their debut at an anti-Ku Klux Klan rally in Halifax in the early 1980s. The trailblazing group received a tribute performance and the Recognition of Excellence from the Music Nova Scotia board of directors.

The complete list of winners follows:

African Nova Scotian Artist of the Year: Reeny Smith
Americana/Bluegrass Recording of the Year: Willie Stratton – Drugstore Dreamin’
Classical Recording of the Year: Catherine Little – Taking Five
Country Recording of the Year: Thomas Stajcer – Midwestern States
DJ of the Year: PINEO & LOEB
Electronic Artist of the Year: Nicole Ariana
Entertainer of the Year: The Town Heroes
Folk / Roots Recording of the Year: Isabella Samson – If It’s Not Forever
Hip Hop Recording of the Year: Ghettosocks x DK – Listen to the Masters
Indigenous Artist of the Year: DeeDee Austin
Jazz Recording of the Year: Sam Wilson – Into A Heart: Part II
Loud Recording of the Year: Electric Spoonful – 2 Poor 4 a Two Four
Music Video of the Year: Neon Dreams – Little Dance (Dir. Dan Lewis & Frank Kadillac)
Musician of the Year: Reeny Smith
New Artist Recording of the Year: DeeDee Austin – Stepping Stones
Pop Recording of the Year: Atay & JAX – Did You Have Fun?
Rock Recording of the Year: The Town Heroes – Home
Prix de l’Acadie: Sluice
SOCAN Songwriter of the Year: Nicole Ariana
Traditional/Roots Recording of the Year: Shannon Quinn – 20 Summers
Recognition of Excellence: Four The Moment

Artistic Development Award: African Nova Scotia Music Association (ANSMA)
Emerging Industry Professional of the Year: Micah Smith
Live Sector Award: Blueberry Jam
Media Arts Award: Katie Kelly
Recording Sector Award: Corey LeRue
Sound, Tech, or Production Award: Trevor DeSouza
Volunteer of the Year: Joe Sampson

Join the Discussion

Follow Us on Social Media

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -