Placeholder canvas
Saturday, May 18, 2024

UPDATED: Nova Scotia the big winners at the 2023 East Coast Music Awards

Halifax area artists Nicole Ariana, Zamani Folade, Adam Baldwin and Jah’Mila are among the winners at this year's East Coast Music Awards.

The East Coast Music Association (ECMA) handed out awards in two ceremonies during the 35th-anniversary celebration of the best in music from around the region.

Among the Halifax area artists to take home trophies are Nicole Ariana, Zamani Folade, Adam Baldwin and Jah’Mila.

Nova Scotia artists took home the biggest haul with a total of 23 wins, followed by Newfoundland and Labrador (9), New Brunswick (7), and Prince Edward Island (5).

Here are all the winners:

Album of the Year
David Myles – It’s Only A Little Loneliness (NB)

African Canadian Artist of the Year
Zamani Folade (NS)

Blues Recording of the Year
Allen Snow – The Quorum (NS)

Children’s Entertainer of the Year 
Matt the Music Man (NS)

Choral Recording of the Year 
Sirens – In Her Image (PEI)

Classical Composer of The Year
Grej (NB)

Classical Recording of the Year 
Jennifer King – O Mistress Moon (Canadian Edition) (NS)

Contemporary Roots Recording of the Year
The East Pointers – House Of Dreams (PEI)

Country Recording of the Year 
Mallory Johnson – Surprise Party (NL)

Dance Recording of the Year 
Corey LeRue – IDTYK (NS)

Electronic Recording of the Year
Rich Aucoin – Synthetic Season 1 (NS)

Folk Recording of the Year 
Fortunate Ones – That Was You and Me (NL)

Francophone Recording of the Year
Lisa LeBlanc – Chiac Disco (NB)

Global Music Recording of the Year
Jah’Mila – Roots Girl (NS)

Group Recording of the Year
The East Pointers – House of Dreams (PEI)

Indigenous Artist of the Year
Morgan Toney (NS)

Inspirational/Gospel Recording of the Year
Yvette Lorraine – Same Story (NL)

Instrumental Recording of the Year
Shannon Quinn & Tony Quinn – 20 Summers (NS)

Jazz Recording of the Year
Big Space – In Relation To (NL)

Loud Recording of the Year 
Dali Van Gogh – New Blood, Old Wounds (NS)

Pop Recording of the Year
The East Pointers – House Of Dreams (PEI)

R&B / Soul Recording of the Year
JRDN – Red Eye (NS)

Rap/Hip-Hop Recording of the Year
City Natives – The People of the Dawn (NB)

Rising Star Recording of the Year
Dylan Menzie – A Piece of Me (PEI

Rock Recording of the Year
The Trews – Wanderer (NS)

Roots/Traditional Recording of the Year
Jing XiaThe Numinous Journey (NL)

Solo Recording of the Year
David Myles – It’s Only A Little Loneliness (NB)

Song of the Year
Adam Baldwin – Lighthouse in Little Lorraine (NS)

Songwriter of the Year
Kellie Loder (NL)

Artist Innovator of the Year
Classified (NS)

Company of the Year
Sound Of Pop (NS)

Event of the Year
TD Halifax Jazz Festival (NS)

Industry Innovator of the Year 
Eirinn Fraser (CB)

Live Sound Engineer of the Year 
Steve Everett (NB)

Artist Management of The Year 
Mary Beth Waldram (NL)

Media Person Of The Year
Heidi-Lyn O’Connor (NB)

Producer Of The Year
Corey LeRue (NS)

Studio Engineer of the Year
Scott Ferguson (NS)

Studio of the Year
FMP Matrix (NS)

Venue of the Year 
The Ship Pub (NL)

Video Director of the Year
Cecil Johnson (NL)

Visual Artist of the Year
Alex MacAskill – Midnight Oil Print & Design House (NS)

TD Fans’ Choice Entertainer of the Year
Kellie Loder

TD Fans’ Choice Video of the Year
Nicole ArianaMaster of Denial (Directors: Griffin O’Toole, Brendan Lyle (MooseCanFly)) from the album Cry Baby

Canadian Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction
Myles Goodwyn (NS)

Director’s Special Achievement
Natalie MacMaster

Bucky Adams Memorial Award
Joe Bowden (NS)

Dr. Helen Creighton Lifetime Achievement Award
Rawlins Cross (NS, NL & PEI)

Industry Builder Award
Lou Gannon (NS)

Musician’s Achievement Award
Jason Mingo (NS)

Stompin’ Tom Awards
Fred Lavery (CB)
Dr. Maggie Paul (NB)
The Flummies (NL)
Greg Clark (NS)
Richard Wood (PEI)

Join the Discussion

Follow Us on Social Media

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -